The Character of Home®

Middle School students receive book awards, 8th grade graduates

See photos

Middle School students from The Webb School came together for a special ceremony on May 17 that included the presentation of traditional and special awards, a pinning ceremony, the announcement of a declamation contest winner and the graduation of the eighth-grade class.

This year’s graduation class is comprised of:

Zethan Atwood, William Badour, Bailey Brock, Evie Brownell, Carley Byford, Matteo Carbini, Nysa Chaudhary, Rhett Davis, Michael Dong, Koen Edwards, Colton Enmon, Lewey Faour, Ava Foulk,  Walker Freeman, Liz Gakara, Abby Hagan, Jack Holland, Hayden Jones, Aaron Kiser, Drew Ledbetter, Iris Liang, Daisy Liu, Gavin McBee, Aran McRady, Avery Petersen, Andriy Plakasov, Evan Robertson, Hailey Simons, Patrick Sissom, Nataja Siva, Carter Sublette, Autumn Swanson, Selina Tang, Natalie Taylor, Elle Thompson, Mili Walton, Irelyn Weaver, Bennett William, Knox Wimberley and Jennifer Zou.

Declamation contest
1. Megan Watts
2. Paige Priestley
3. Anastasia Coonan

All graduates were given Webb School pins in a pinning ceremony. They can wear the pins on their senior blazers in four years.

Middle School Awards included the following:

Special Awards:

The Erin A. Hinkle Award:  The award is presented to the eighth grader, who by achievement and example, has done the most for The Webb School.
Recipient: Autumn Swanson

The Schorstein Award: The family of Richard Schorstein, Jr., presents a prize to that students or students, regardless of classification, whom the full faculty judges to be the hardest worker in the school. This year the faculty selected one middle school student and one upper school student.
Ava Foulk

The middle school “Grit” award: (New 2019) For the student who has demonstrated consistent perseverance and persistence in academics to find success at Webb:
Recipient: Mariana Olvera

$100.00 Latin Award: Abby Hagan


Thespian Awards: Milli Walton, Bailey Brock, Aspen Northcutt, and Camille McCamey

Spelling bee: Bailey Brock

Geography Bee: Jesse Joslin

Mental Math: Jennifer Zhou

Book Awards (Presented by Advisors): 

A.J. Swafford
Walker Freeman

Hughes Bradley

Grace Hollon


Jena Jones

Abby Hagan

Carley Byford

Mia Smith


Mindy Genet

Natalie Taylor

Laurel Cox


Rosie Arellano

Alex Morton

Mack Hopper


Jacquelyn Boyanton
Ava Foulk

Eva Pagello

Kenley Johnson

Milli Walton

Ryan Sublette


Jeff Mitchell

Jax Howard

Tabetha Sullens
Macy Simon


Michael Stem

Michael Dong

Drew Ledbetter

Elle Thompson

Lea Anne Windham

Carter Sublette

Colton Enmon

Willa Kate Shoffner

Mary Margaret Mayfield

Abigail Voorhes-Fontenot

Kennedy Clarkson


Andrew McRady

Iris Liang