July 31, 2019

Dear Webb Community,

As previously announced, The Webb School is undertaking a search for a new Head of School. Since the announcement, the Webb Board of Trustees has established a Search Committee led by Farrar Vaughan '95. Over the coming year, our recently appointed Search Committee, guided by an executive search firm, will be conducting a comprehensive search for the next Head of The Webb School.

Members of the Search Committee are:

Farrar Vaughan '95 chair Vance Berry '72 Drew Carrington '83 Stephen Graham '65 George Pine '68 David Brown Joseph Mooney '83 Charles Alexander '68 Phil Coop '66 John Sawyer '88

After interviewing several nationally recognized educational search firms, our committee has selected Nashville-based The Education Group (TEG). We were impressed by TEG's knowledge of the Webb School and our region, their experience in recent head of school searches and their collective understanding of boarding schools. Dr. Dennis Campbell and Katherine Moncure Stuart will assist the Search Committee with this all-important task of selecting Webb's next Head of School. Dennis Campbell most recently served as Headmaster of Woodberry Forest School in Woodberry Forest, Virginia. He has been a board member on The Association of Boarding Schools, and has been involved with TEG since 2015 conducting Head of School searches and assisting with executive coaching, strategic planning, and board governance. Katherine has been actively involved in independent school search and placement for the last 15 years and is now President of TEG.

The consultants will be on campus in the next few weeks to meet with various constituents within the Webb community, including faculty, staff, administrators, parents, current students, and alumni. The Committee will be sending a confidential survey to all constituents prior to the consultants' visit to campus. This survey, along with the campus visit, will help our consultants develop a position profile highlighting the personal and professional qualities that the Webb community seeks in its next Head of School.

Throughout this process, the Search Committee will provide periodic progress reports to the school community on this Head of School Search Page. You may send information and candidate recommendations to Dennis Campbell at <a href="mailto:dennis@educationgroup.com">dennis@educationgroup.com</a> and Katherine Stuart at <a href="mailto:katherine@educationgroup.com">katherine@educationgroup.com</a>.

Sincerely,

Farrar Vaughan '95 Head of Search Committee Chair