Dear Webb Alumni,

The Class Agent Committee of the Alumni Board is working closely with the Office of Alumni and Development to revise and update our listing of prominent alumni. Our first step is in renaming this page as a listing of Notable Alumni. During the next few months, it is our hope that this list recognizes a contemporary and diverse group of alumni who are worthy of mention. As alumni of The Webb School, many of you know the members of your class and what they have achieved in their disciplines so we are seeking your help in making this a very robust list that will showcase the caliber of Webb alumni to prospective students and their parents. If you have recommendations to add to this list, please review our draft notable designation standards here and then submit their names and supporting details to Jonathon Hawkins, director of alumni relations and annual giving, at

Thanks in advance for your assistance,

Class Agent Committee

Charles Alexander - 1968
International Editor for TIME Magazine

L. Desaix Anderson, Jr. - 1954
U.S. Foreign Service Envoy in Asia -- including senior posts serving Vietnam, Korea, Japan, and Thailand

William West Bond - 1938
Architect and designer for Holiday Inn hotels

Lewis M. Branscomb - 1943
Professor at Harvard University's Kennedy School of Government

Randal Brown - 1987
Head of School, All Saints Episcopal School - Tyler, Texas

Edward W. Carmack - 1877
U.S. Senator

Jac Chambliss - 1927
Lawyer, poet and Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts of London

Frank Constantine - 1929
Chief of Opthamalic Surgery at the Manhattan Eye, Ear and Throat Hospital

Prentice Cooper - 1913
Governor of Tennessee

Paul Craft - 1957
Award-winning singer, songwriter

Edwin L. Davis - 1893
Chairman of the Federal Trade Commission

Norman H. Davis - 1897
President of the American Red Cross

William Eggleston - 1957
American photographer and artist

W.Y. Elliott - 1913
Rhodes Scholar, Harvard professor, poet, author, counselor to six Presidents, co-architect of Marshall Plan, rallied country early against Hitler and Stalin, was in charge of civilian requirements for War Production Board in WW2.

Charles W. Flexner - 1974
Professor of Pharmacology and Molecular Research,
Johns Hopkins University

T. Watt Gregory - 1881
Attorney General of the U.S.

Aubrey B. Harwell, Jr. - 1960
Co-Founder and Managing Partner of Neal and Harwell, a commercial litigation firm
He holds The Jennings A. Jones Chair of Excellence in Free Enterprise at Middle Tennessee State University

Doug Holder - 1985
Florida State Representative

David Hudson - 1987
Vanderbilt University First Amendment Scholar
Professor, Vanderbilt University Law School

Edward L. Kaplan - 1954
Professor, Pediatrics and Epidemiology, University of Minnesota
Head, World Health Organization Collaborating Center for Reference and Research on Streptococci

Walter W. Manley - 1964
Professor at Oxford and Cambridge Universities

Jerry Martin - 1992
U.S. Attorney for the state of Tennessee

Jim Mathes - 1978
Bishop, Episcopal Diocese of San Diego

Rob McNeilly - 1974
President, CEO - Nashville area SunTrust Bank

William F. McCombe - 1894
Democratic National Committee Chairman

E. Vane McClurg - 1960
Chief Legal Counsel, Publix Corp

Raymond Ross Paty - 1914
Chancellor of the University System of Georgia

Stephen J. Peters - 1973
Indiana "Super Lawyer" 2009, 2010, 2011
Fellow, Litigation Counsel of America

Eddie Rehfeldt - 1983
Award-winning film producer, photographer, director
Digital media authority

Wayne M. Rogers - 1950
Movie and television actor, portrayed Trapper John on M*A*S*H TV series; investment analyst for FOX News network

Vermont C. Royster - 1931
Editor of the Wall Street Journal, winner of two Pulitzer Prizes and the Presidential Medal of Freedom

Paul Sanger - 1924
Heart Surgeon, founder of the Sanger Clinic

Brian D. Singer - 1978
Board Chair at Free to Choose Network,
Chair, CFA Institute (Global Association of Investment Professionals)

Ingram Macklin Stainback - 1902
First Governor of Hawaii

John J. Tigert - 1900
President of the University of Florida
U.S. Commissioner of Education - 1921-1928

Fielding Lewis Wright - 1912
Governor of Mississippi

Mabel Kate Whiteside - 1895
Founder of Greek Play Tradition at Randolph-Macon Woman's College

A. Jones Yorke - 1949
Chairman: 42nd Street Development Corp (New York, NY)
Past Executive Director, SEC