The purpose of the John B. Hardin Service Award is to recognize and honor those alumni and members of the community who have consistently contributed an exceptional amount of time and talent to Webb and whose efforts benefit students, enhance campus life and reaffirm the commitment of the Webb community to the School.

All living Webb School Alumni, Administrators, Faculty, Staff and other members of the Webb School community are eligible to be nominated.

Lee Woosley '78

Lee Woosley ’78 is First Vice President - Financial Advisor with Wells Fargo Advisors in Nashville. He was previously Alerion Bank (New Orleans) Vice President – Corporate Finance and an Associate in the Capital Markets Division of First American Bank (Nashville). From 1982 - 1984 he was Associate Director of Admissions, Assistant Soccer Coach and Rand Dormitory Master at Webb School.

Following his 1978 graduation from Webb, the award recipient graduated from Washington and Lee University, receiving a B.A. with a German Language – European History double major. In 1984 he attended the Goethe Institute (Munich, Germany) and later received his MBA from the Thunderbird School of Global Management (Glendale, AZ) in 1986.

Woosley is from a multi-generation family of Webb graduates. While a senior at Webb, he was President of the Honor Council, a Council Prefect and a Rand Dormitory Prefect. Since graduation, he has served Webb School in numerous capacities over many years. In the 1980s he served as an Admissions Officer, alumni relations liaison and as a fundraising volunteer and Class Agent. He served on the Alumni Board from 1991 - 1993, as Webb Fund Chair for one year and as a member of the Board of Trustees from 1995 - 2007 and 2008 - 2014. During his tenure on the Board of Trustees, he served as Chair of the Governance Committee, Co-Chair of the Headmaster Search Committee and was a member of the Executive, Development, Capital Campaign and Investment Committees.

Woosley also served six years on the Board of Trustees of Harding Academy (Nashville), where his children attended K - 8th grades. He served as Chair of the Advancement Committee and as a member of the Executive, Headmaster Search and Capital Campaign Committees. He has been a member of the Harding Academy Advisory Board since 2012. From 1986 -1991, he was a member of the Middle Tennessee State University Foundation Board of Trustees. He and his wife, Jessica Delbridge Woosley, a 1982 Webb graduate, are members of the West End United Methodist Church. They have two children, Harry (24) and Katherine (22).

Past Recipients


2017 Wilson Sims, Jr. '72
2016 Matthias Brickell "Bricke" Murfree '96
2015 Jack Bailey '72
2014 Paul Martin '88
2013 Sandra Truitt
2012 Leigh McKee
2011 L.R. Smith
2010 Bill Rice
2009 Bobby Chambers
2008 Jenny Hunt
2007 Sandy Sanders
2006 Harold Bennett
2005 Jon Frere
2004 Bill Abernathy '72
2003 Mack Scott *
2002 Imre Lagler *
2001 Blair Stephens '53
2000 Jim Meadows '52*
1999 John Hester '77
1998 Dorothy Elkins

*Denotes deceased