The Distinguished Alumni Society recognizes and honors those alumni who demonstrate outstanding leadership beyond the Webb School community. Membership in the Distinguished Alumni Society is awarded by the Alumni Board and the Board of Trustees of The Webb School. Members of the Distinguished Alumni Society include Webb Alumni who, through personal commitment, work ethic, and service, have achieved significant success in their professional careers and have made outstanding contributions to their communities, demonstrating Sawney's vision of bringing honor to themselves and to the Webb School.

All living Webb School Alumni are eligible for membership in the Distinguished Alumni Society. Candidates are nominated and selected by the Alumni Board and confirmed by the Board of Trustees. At Webb, an “alumnus/alumna” is defined as any individual who completed one or more academic year(s) in grades nine through twelve at Webb School.

Dr. Charles W. Flexner '74

Congratulations to our 2019 recipient Dr. Charles W. Flexner.

Charles W. Flexner, M.D., is Professor of Medicine in the Divisions of Clinical Pharmacology and Infectious Diseases, and Professor of Pharmacology and Molecular Sciences at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. He is also Professor of International Health at the Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health.

Dr. Flexner is an expert on the basic and clinical pharmacology of drugs for HIV/AIDS and related infections, including viral hepatitis and tuberculosis. His research teams developed a number of ways to reduce drug doses and toxicity while maintaining desired activity. He led clinical development teams for seven new drugs for HIV. He has published extensively on antiviral and antibiotic drug transport and metabolism, and metabolic drug interactions. He has published nearly 250 peer-reviewed scientific manuscripts, reviews, and book chapters, and has authored two medical textbooks. His current research includes the discovery and development of new molecules and formulations for long-acting parenteral administration for treatment and prevention of HIV infection.

He directs the Long Acting/Extended Release Antiretroviral Research Resource Program (LEAP;, which provides advice and support to an international audience that includes the World Health Organization and Unitaid. He is Co-Director of the Johns Hopkins University Baltimore-Washington-India HIV Clinical Trials Unit (BWI CTU). Dr. Flexner is the Chief Scientific Officer of the Institute for Clinical and Translational Research at Johns Hopkins. He also serves as Associate Vice-Chair for Academic Fellowship Programs in the Department of Medicine, and Associate Director of the Graduate Training Programs in Clinical Investigation of the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and Bloomberg School of Public Health.

He chairs the antiretroviral therapy committee of the AIDS Clinical Trials Group, an international consortium funded by NIH. Dr. Flexner served as President of the American Federation for Medical Research (AFMR) from 1999-2000, and was President of the AFMR Foundation from 2001-2002. He is a member of the editorial board of 12 scientific journals, and served as a consultant for three dozen pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies. He is a Consultant for the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation and the Clinton Health Access Initiative, and served as a Consultant on FDA Reform for the United States House of Representatives.

Distinguished Alumni Society

2018 The Rt. Rev. James R. Mathes '78
2017 Justice Scott J. Crichton '72
2016 Jorge Redmond '66
2015 Aubrey B. Harwell, Jr. '60
2014 Ed R. Davies '49
2013 Dr. E. Hunter Welles, III '63
2012 Forrest Shoaf '68
2012 Desaix Anderson '54
2011 E. Vane McClurg '60
2010 Pick Stephens '56
2010 Bob F. Thompson '65
2009 Rusty Vest '72
2008 A. Jones Yorke, Jr. '49
2007 Phillip G. Coop '66
2006 Robert Collins '45*
2005 John M. Flexner '44*
2004 Lemuel H. Tate '44
2003 Walter W. Manley, II '64
2002 Edward L. Kaplan '54
2001 Charles P. Alexander '68
2000 George E. Pine, III '68
1999 Robert J. Gilliland '44
1998 Hon. Frank D. Upchurch, Jr. '40 *
1997 William T. Allen, III '40 *
1997 Burch Williams '35*
1996 Sam H. Mann, Jr. '43*
1996 James S. Gilliland '51
1996 Buford Gordon '22 *
1995 John B. Hardin '50 *
1995 Hamilton D. Upchurch '43*
1995 George B. Huddleston '50 *
1994 W. Lane Abernathy '39 *
1994 James R. Meadows, Jr. '52*
1994 Henry O. Whiteside '29 *
1993 Wilson Sims, Sr. '42
1993 James W. McDonnell Jr. '43
1993 Wayne M. Rogers, Jr. '50*
1992 Hon. Lester Glenn Fant, Jr. '23 *
1992 Dr. Frank H. Constantine '29 *
1992 Bryant B. Skinner '41
1991 John H. Crichton '38 *
1991 Dr. Lewis M. Branscomb '43
1991 William J. Armstrong '28*

*Denotes deceased

Charter Members

Charter Members

William W. Bond Jr. ’38*
Cmdr. Lingurn H. Burkhead ’21*
Jac Chambliss, ESQ. ’27*
Thomas A. Cooper ’30*
Webb Follin Jr. ’38*
Dr. C. Mallory Harwell ’31*
Pat Munroe ’34*
Vermont C. Royster ’31*
Dr. Harrison J. Shull ’27*
O. Strother Simpson ’30*
Paul Trousdale ’31*
William R. Webb III '37*

*Denotes Deceased