Skip To Main Content
“Radium Girls” is Webb spring play, March 16-18
Theatre Department

Photo Gallery

The Webb Company Players will perform “Radium Girls” by D.W. Gregory March 16, 17, 18 on the chapel stage at 7 p.m. The spring play is presented in association with Dramatic Publishing Company. General Admission is $10; reservations are required and can be made at this link.

The time is the 1920s in and around Orange, N.J.

“In 1926, radium was a miracle cure, Madame Curie an international celebrity, and luminous watches the latest rage — until the girls who painted them began to fall ill with a mysterious disease. Inspired by a true story, Radium Girls traces the efforts of Grace Fryer, a dial painter, as she fights for her day in court. Her chief adversary is her former employer, Arthur Roeder, an idealistic man who cannot bring himself to believe that the same element that shrinks tumors could have anything to do with the terrifying rash of illnesses among his employees. As the case goes on, however, Grace finds herself battling not just with the U.S. Radium Corporation, but with her own family and friends, who fear that her campaign for justice will backfire. Written with warmth and humor, Radium Girls is a fast-moving, highly theatrical ensemble piece. Called a "powerful" and "engrossing" drama by critics, Radium Girls offers a wry, unflinching look at the peculiarly American obsessions with health, wealth, and the commercialization of science.” 

---Dramatic Publishing

The Radium Girls cast includes: Bailey Brock, Lucy Wilson, Elliot Williams, Sophia Bain, Trynna Atwood, Winston A. Dugdale, Ilana Gunther, Sabrina Xia, Ray Zhang, Nick Allison, Anne Marie Florida, Jose’ Oelgarth, Scout Harding, London Sullens and Mili Walton.

Theatre director is Ruth Cordell, Webb’s speech and theatre teacher; script supervisor and associate director, Maryanna Walton; Janet Linton, Fine Arts Department chair, music director; and Adam Dinsmore, tech director. Stage manager is Aspen Northcutt. Tech and set crew members are Sienna Smith, Sullens, Hayden Werner, Tallan Crosslen, Micah Robison, Walton, Kylie Singer, Alisyn Parfait, Jennifer Dinsmore and Beth Ford.